Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

beach driving

Old 03-09-2015, 12:23 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default beach driving

hey guys so i recently bought a 2015 jeep wrangler unlimited freedom edition, so im very new to the jeep community, its currently all stock 17 inch wheels, and i wanted to take it on the beach this summer but i have never done any beach driving before anyone have any tips and pointers they can give me such as airing down and just things of that nature
Old 03-09-2015, 01:14 PM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Air down to about 15-18psi
No hard starts, easy on the throttle
Keep a traction board with you as well as a tow strap or two.
Keep an eye on the tide
Stay off the dunes if they are posted
If you help out another stucky, make sure you know how so you don't bury yourself in the process.
After the beach, go to a drive through car wash with undercarriage spray. I use to put a lawn sprinkler under mine, done in the yard, leave it in place for about 5 minutes and move it around to get all the areas free of sand and salt.
Old 03-09-2015, 04:35 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I pulled out a JK like yours at the beach, stock with no accessories. Stick to good lines off the loose dry sand. Absolutely get traction boards / sand ramps - they will get you moving if you get out and use them immediately you get stuck (don't spin the tires and bury the axles), or bring cuts of carpet if you want to save $. Bring a tow strap just in case.

Last edited by westchester; 03-09-2015 at 04:40 PM.
Old 03-09-2015, 07:01 PM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by Jeepstin12
Air down to about 15-18psi
No hard starts, easy on the throttle
Keep a traction board with you as well as a tow strap or two.
Keep an eye on the tide
Stay off the dunes if they are posted