Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

First wheeling tips

Old 08-25-2009, 01:41 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First wheeling tips

I will be taking my JK X out for the first time on Labor Day weekend. We are heading to Gulches OHV park in Laurin SC. I want to try it stock before I start making mods. My daughter and wife are taking her S-10 Blazer which I have modified with a V8, chopped top with full cage and winch in case I get stuck. I am going to stick to easy to medium difficult trails. I don't want to tear it up and want to know what I should watch out for. I am sure some of you have wheeled yours stock and could give me a few pointers. This is the first time I have wheeled a vehical that I am making payments on and am a little nervous. I have been wheeling for about thirty years and it's always been beaters. Thanks for any advice you could give me.

I hope to make it to the East coast JK meet in October.
Old 08-25-2009, 04:27 AM
JK Freak

I run My 08 Rubi Stock (for now) as well. And Have a blast. You should be fine as long as you don't try anything that looks to extreme. You can still have loads of fun.
Enjoy.
Old 08-25-2009, 06:01 AM
JK Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Take your time, take it easy, do NOT go alone, have fun without killing your Jeep.
Old 08-25-2009, 02:21 PM
JK Newbie

Thanks. I wanted to know if there were anything vulnerable that I should watchout for. I know it will be a blast to hit a few trails.
Old 08-25-2009, 02:46 PM
JK Freak