Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Recovery Rope(KERR) vs Recovery Strap

Old 05-06-2010, 06:11 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Recovery Rope(KERR) vs Recovery Strap

Quick question that may start a debate. I am new to wheeling, mainly forest roads and lots of snow last winter, but after getting stuck a few weeks ago I think its about time to get some recovery gear. I am getting a receiver shackle for my birthday in a couple weeks and am trying to decide if I should get a 2" ARB Recovery Strap or a 3/4" KERR Recovery Rope? I know they both stretch and build up a pulling force and both require time to recover after a pull but my questions are:
1) Are they they similar in stretch?
2) Do they have the same wait time after a pull?
3) Is one more durable?
Thanks in advance.
-Jeff
Old 05-07-2010, 08:37 PM
JK Freak

Until now I have never heard of a Kerr recovery rope, which does not mean its not an excellent product. I have had an ARB recovery strap for a number of years and it never fails recover my friends stranded H2 or a fellow Jeeper.

Here is you bump of the day.
Old 05-07-2010, 08:40 PM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Is the kerr the same as the 'bubba rope'? I've heard some about the bubba rope being good stuff, but have no personal experience myself.
Old 05-07-2010, 09:47 PM
JK Newbie

Yea, I am pretty sure that the KERR is like Bubba rope or Yankers rope but I just wasnt sure if anyone had any true experience with one...I may just get a 2" ARB strap to go with the tried and true gear.
Old 05-10-2010, 05:19 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Cool

KERR = Kinetic Energy Recovery Rope

It uses the same principle as the snatch straps....and you'd use the same precautions.