Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

2007 Jeep JK Rubicon PAINT ISSUE ON THE HINGES

Old 02-27-2008, 06:35 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2007 Jeep JK Rubicon PAINT ISSUE ON THE HINGES

Hi All,

This is my first time writing into this forum...

I purcased a new Rubicon Unlimited in May of 2007... after 20 years...

I love my new toy (Graystone) and am probably the 1st to have a 2007 in Nunavut Canada.

Back to my issue, I have noticed that after approximately 800km there is paint

missing from all 4 rear door hinges. I took pics of it and contacted my dealer...
I am told that it looks like rock chips and nothing they can do for me.

I know that I bought a Jeep and I am expecting a scratch and a dent here and there on off roading trips.
These paint chips are, as near as I can figure is from pebbles thrown from my front tires due to lack of tire coverage by the fenders...
I drive on 80% pavement...

I guess Mud Flaps are the next purchase and new fenders...

Old 02-27-2008, 06:40 PM
JK Enthusiast

how strange!
I drive 50% pav. and 50% dirt roads, and have 50,000 miles on my Jeep and I don't have any chips on the hindges.

Hubby has an 08 with 20,000 miles and has no chips on his hindges either.
Old 02-27-2008, 06:45 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My stock tires held and spit out alot of gravel while I drove. My MTZ's eliminated that problem. Your solution might be to get some beefier tires with more space between treads.
Old 02-27-2008, 10:44 PM
JK Super Freak

There has been a lot of mention of poor paint finishing on many of the JKs. There's a couple of spots INSIDE the door jamb on my driver's door with some missing paint. One of the many eccentricities associated with the Wrangler.

Russ D.
Old 03-03-2008, 07:48 AM
JK Enthusiast