Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Going from a TJ to an FJ and now back to a JK, need some tips.

Old 07-11-2007, 12:12 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going from a TJ to an FJ and now back to a JK, need some tips.

Hello everyone, I'm a total newbie to the site, but I forums have always served me well in the past and I've always tried to serve them back so here's my story.

I'm from PA, I do some light trail running occasionally Paragon (may she rest in peace) but mostly Rausch Creek where I enjoy a good day trip, some camping and some light blue/green trail running, and the occasional black .

I had a TJ (sport) for about 5 years which I loved. MT with some upgraded tires, rear locker and skids.

Soon, I had too many kids, needed 5 seats and wanted to upgrade my off-road capablities simultaneously, so I bought a well equipped FJ with Rear Locker, Atrac and the MT. The biggest compromise on-road was the loss of the convertible top (which is HUGE in our opinion) and the breakover angles. In return I get better mileage, better highway ride, much better power and so far, better reliability, knock on wood.

Then... The 4 door unlimited came out 6 months later and we were devastated. It had the 5 seats we needed and was convertible, had better on-road manners than the old jeep (not better mileage or power sadly from what I've heard).