Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Lift Install

Old 11-30-2009, 06:59 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lift Install

Who on here has actually installed there own lift kit. I ordered my RE 3.5 Superflex yesterday. I'm a very cappable DIYer but by no means a mechanic. I have the tools, I have the jacks and jack stands. Just don't have the confidence to start tearing apart my new jeeps suspension. I've done all the reading on the subject.

How easy was it for everyone else. Maybe just need a lil "go for it" motivation!!!!
Old 11-30-2009, 07:08 AM
Eternal ***erator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I did mine by myself (twice... first a BB, then a coil lift with flex arms) I am no mechanic, but i have some tools and a curiosity/drive to do things for myself. Sometimes that gets me in hot water, but the lift went well, it just took me a long time as i went slow and double/triple checked everything as I went.
Old 11-30-2009, 07:12 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by HappyCurmudgeon
I did mine by myself (twice... first a BB, then a coil lift with flex arms) I am no mechanic, but i have some tools and a curiosity/drive to do things for myself. Sometimes that gets me in hot water, but the lift went well, it just took me a long time as i went slow and double/triple checked everything as I went.
Completely understand!!!! Drive + Hot Water=
Old 11-30-2009, 09:23 AM
JK Freak

With 1/2 an ounce of mechanical aptitude you should have no problem doing it. As mentioned, go through some walkthroughs here to familiarize yourself with the process and take your time. I'm totally guilty of not doing it myself but only because I'm a lazy bastard and I only paid 1hr labour for someone to do it for me.
Old 11-30-2009, 09:28 AM
Eternal ***erator