Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

My 2017 JK Questions;

Old 02-25-2023, 07:22 PM
JK Newbie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default My 2017 JK Questions;

Hi everybody im the new guy on the block i have been building my 2017 JK sport for a few years now. I want some more power! I have not done anything with the motor yet. I keep hearing about this magnuson supercharger and a 10 speed transmission swap. Has anyone seen this combo yet? Is it worth it? What transmission is being used?
Old 02-26-2023, 04:55 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,826 Likes on 1,596 Posts

Man, adding a supercharger or a turbo is a good way to send the 3.6L to the graveyard IMO. It's sure hard to justify the cost as well. I know relative to a V8 swap they seem cheap, but I guess it all depends on how long you plan on keeping the jeep. If it's just for a few years then sure, I guess a SC would be a lot of fun. If on a vehicle you plan on keeping 10 years.....meh. Anyhow, I know that didn't answer your question, just throwing out an opinion based on having seen a lot of friends fiddle with RIPP, Prodigy, and Sprintex......and having seen a lot of headaches from people online.
The following users liked this post:
5280shane (02-26-2023)
Old 02-26-2023, 05:48 AM
JK Newbie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I agree with Resharp, if you want a hemi but can’t justify the cost, simply install a Supercharger and wait for the engine to blow. It’s only a matter of time. Then it’s easier to justify the V8 you wanted in the first place. 😁
5280shane (02-26-2023)
Old 02-26-2023, 07:33 AM
Super Moderator

Received 358 Likes on 334 Posts