Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

The never ending battle of the mpgs!

Old 03-16-2008, 07:47 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The never ending battle of the mpgs!

I dont own a jk, I will start off by saying that. Hence I drive a 99 toyota camry. I have been driving the camry for about a year. My prevous car was a audi a4, which I sold after i finished paying it off because the parts are rediculus expensive, and the 1.8t was still slow no matter what parts you threw at it. I have extensive background in rally cars, the old dsms, to the evos and stis. But I guess I dont make enough money to justify paying the price at the pump for premium. I mean hell its 3.69 for pemium here. Thats what got me thinking about the wrangler, and chryslers stance on the future of fuel economy and the rise of gas prices. So I'll get the point, do you guys think that chrysler will come up with a gas engine and or, a diesel engine that will get extremely great mpg. I personally feel if they dont there are going to be sitting ducks, becuase soo many automanufactors are going with fuel efecient cars, and they are advertising them as such. And to add to it, do you guys feel that diesel prices will remain higher then gas? Any hope for us, or are we headed like europe and the rest of the world? I knoiw for sure there has to be a major move made by someone, because we are going to see over 4.00 for sure in the near future, and with the jk average to be 16-18, I cant see my self owning one. As much as I would love to own the jeep, I feel my money is better spent somewhere esle, and not at the pump.
Old 03-16-2008, 09:02 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts