Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Shock life

Old 07-21-2017, 09:08 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shock life

I am a bit new to lifted vehicles and have just gotten a new JK with a 3inch lift. It has almost 58K on it right now and the lift was dealer installed by the first owner. Are the SkyJacker Hydro 7000 a shock/strut that will make it past the typical 50K?
Old 07-24-2017, 12:44 PM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,819 Likes on 1,589 Posts

Lift was dealer installed at time of purchase.....as in the shocks actually have 58k miles on em? I don't have experience with that shock in particular, but 58k miles on $38 shocks seems like living on borrowed time to me. That has to be one of the least expensive shocks out there......and you typically get what you pay for when it comes to those.

Last edited by resharp001; 07-24-2017 at 12:47 PM.
Old 08-02-2017, 06:27 PM
Super Moderator

Received 77 Likes on 71 Posts

Get new shocks. They are simple to install yourself.
Old 08-02-2017, 11:28 PM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 361 Likes on 269 Posts

Originally Posted by EHarris
Get new shocks. They are simple to install yourself.