Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

Centerforce Clutch Install Write-Up

Old 11-11-2011, 05:47 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

2010 Jeep JK Wrangler Clutch Install

A disclaimer before going any further. I am not a professional mechanic. These steps worked for me and are only meant as a guide. Installing a new clutch is a big job and will require significant time and basic mechanical skill.

Prior to beginning make sure you have

oReplacement Clutch - Centerforce or Spec will do (call Dave @ Northridge for a nice Centerforce)

oReplacement Throw Out Bearing (TOB). There is a lot of forum activity about this. Jeeps are known to have bad TOB. The market is flooded with TOBs, but almost all of them are from Chrysler (same weak one you have now). Getting a non-Chrysler TOB is a project. I called National Auto (hxxp://www.nationalautostores.com/) and got a Moog. It was more expensive, but supposed to be much higher quality.

oReplacement Flywheel - may not be necessary. I was able to clean mine and use it. Some people get theirs machined and reuse it. If yours is badly burned you will need a new one. As far as I know there is no way to know before seeing it. I only had 13,000 miles and risked not ordering one ahead of time.

o2 quarts ATF+4 fluid for the transfer case

o3 Quarts Mopar MS-9224 Transmission fluid ( I used Royal Purple syncromesh)

oFluid pump that hooks to 1 qt container for filling

oGrease

oBrake Cleaner

oGear Puller

oClutch install tool

o1-1/4" Socket (that fits your impact wrench)

o17mm to make drain tool (if you drop your exhaust you will not need to cut this down)

o14mm Allen

oRed loctite

oMany small closing container for hardware (there will be hundreds of pieces)

oPainters tape (I labeled all of the containers with the step # for
the hardware)

oPermanent marker