Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

A grill mod...My way.

Old 04-19-2011, 08:50 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A grill mod...My way.

So after looking at pages and pages of grill mods I finally decided what I wanted to do. This isn't much different than other grill mods. Except that I've read several other posts on it and found out what to do, and most importantly, what not to do. This is just my own personal way.

This is my first time doing it and I completely relied on JK-Forum and members like you.

HINT: Since I used the gutter guards that already had a slight bend to them, I took advantage of this and held down the mesh into the grill slot so it looks like its rounded out from the outside. Kind of like the expensive one on Quadratec. It gives it a little bit of a raised look instead of flat like everyone else who did this mod with a big sheet of mesh instead of individual pieces.

Hope you enjoy!

Materials:

Package of 6 gutter guards (Home Depot)
Epoxy (5 minute dry time)
Color Matched DupliColor Chrysler Blue rattle can
DupliColor Bedliner rattle can
3M double sided tape
Masking tape

Tools:
metal shears
scissors
Drill w/ wood screw

Before.....

I started out by taking off the front grill. (Obviously) Removing the plastic rivets was easy.
Just drill a screw into the center about a 1/4 inch.

Pull it out with a pair of pliers.

Reverse drill to get screw out of plastic bit.

Use needlenose pliers to pull up on the remaining plastic tab. Repeat for the others.

Pull outward on grill.

Twist the turn signal bulbs and gently remove them.

Pull grill out from tabs on bottom and lift grill up and remove.

I put all the plastic clips/tabs on the fender so they don't get lost.

Remove the lenses by pressing in on the tabs and releasing.

Start sanding away.