Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2.5" - 3" llift help

Old 01-27-2007, 05:53 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.5" - 3" llift help

Ok, guys...I'm a complete newb to all of this. I will be ordering my JK in a few months and I want to be able to squeeze some 35s under it. I've been looking at some different lift kits and there seems to be quite a difference in price between some of them. I have no idea what upper and lower control arms do or track bars. Are the things added in the Ultimate kits worth all the extra money? Also I only see steering stabilizers available through Skyjacker. Are these not necessary? My jeep will be mainly a street driver, but I plan on doing some wheeling on weekends, so I don't want something that will be a terrible ride on the highway, but I don't want it to be a lame duck off-road either.

Here are the kits I've been looking at

FT 3" Economy (with Nitro shocks $780)
FT 3" Premium (with Nitro shocks $1360) - seems to be same as Economy, but with control arms and front track bar
FT 3" Ultimate (with Nitro shocks $1960) - seems to be same as Ultimate, but with adjustable control arms and rear track bar
Skyjacker 2.5" (with Nitro shocks $456)
TeraFlex 3" (with shocks $698)

I guess my question is what are track bars and control arms and is it worth the money to change them? How do they affect my ride? Why is it better that they're adjustable?

Sorry for all the questions...please pardon my ignorance on this subject.
Old 01-27-2007, 06:55 AM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post