Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

35x12.50R17 > Do I need a lift?

Old 05-02-2017, 10:46 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 35x12.50R17 > Do I need a lift?

Hi all,

Newbie here so bear with me. I'm planning to order some 35x12.50R17 tires and since this is already big in my budget I was wondering if I'll necessarily need a lift and/or spacers right away? Or could I get a few weeks/months without one or what could be the risks? I'm not planning to do any off road yet at all, just some regular commute for now.
I'm also planning to change the fenders to much thinner ones which I hope will help me gain some time. See the picture attached.

Thank you!

Click image for larger version

Name:	NMtbD5d.jpg
Views:	705
Size:	430.6 KB
ID:	671148
Old 05-02-2017, 11:03 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

As a note, the search function on the forum works well.

You can mount and fit those tires on a stock JK, but any bounce or sway and you will contact the stock fenders. If you have a JK built prior to the 2013 model year, you will also have to trim the rear pinch seam (do a forum search on that one) or you may end up cutting your tire tread.

You will require a minimum wheel backspace of at least 4.5" to prevent rubbing on the sway bar. The stock 6.25" backspacing can be overcome with a 1.5" wheel spacer. Yes that makes 4.75" but it will be fine.

If you plan to run a flat fender you may want to look into extending your bumpstops. There are plenty of threads on how to measure your bumpstop.
Old 05-02-2017, 11:26 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner