Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Is anybody using a chip to modify your power and fuel economy

Old 04-03-2013, 04:15 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is anybody using a chip to modify your power and fuel economy

I am pretty new to Jeeps, and I see alot of neat computers and chips to modify the HP and MPG for my Jeep. Some cost hundreds, some cost $20. Has anybody used any of them and did it make a difference? My 07 has a new engine and I am currently running about 21 mpg average and would love to and will improve it. I made all kinds of mods to my Honda CRv which got 30mpg in the city and close to 40 on the highway, I know the jeep cant do that, but Im betting I can get close to 25mpg. I have already replaced my air filter with a K&N, my tires are inflated properly and I do not have a lead foot. So, how about these computers and chips...anybody? I am asking for opinions and facts if you know about them.

thanks

Stephen
07 JK 4 dr unlimited X
Old 04-03-2013, 04:24 AM
JK Super Freak

25 mpg won't happen. Physics won't let it.

Intake exhaust may net you 1? A chip won't net you much. More HP = more fuel + air

Perhaps lowering your JK may help.
Old 04-03-2013, 04:38 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by CerOf

Perhaps lowering your JK may help.
Doing that will make for an uncomfortable ride. Not because of the suspension but because you would be sitting on your penis because it would be required for you to tuck it between your legs for the rest of your life.
Old 04-03-2013, 05:27 AM
JK Super Freak

Originally Posted by JStab