Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie questions from stealership work up

Old 06-26-2019, 11:51 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie questions from stealership work up

Newbie here so I would encourage flaming

Just bought a 2008 JK Unlimited Rubicon with 126K miles. Took it to the Jeep Dealership to ensure recalls are done and a LOF since I have been working a lot.

The jeep is running fine but has an engine and fuel cap light going.

So they gave a workup for nearly $10k in work! I guess I need to take some vacation and turn a wrench or two.

Here is the list;

Stuff I asked about
Check engine light : Replace Vapor Cansiter $586
Sway bar light : Replace Sway bar module and repair harness $2922
Rear wiper : Replace TIPM and Wiper Motor $1134

Recommendations based on their inspection:
Front Brakes with rotors $446
Rear Brakes with rotors $499
Water Pump leaking $525
Exhaust manifold left side $823
Front Driveshaft boot torn $1293
Steering Damper leaking $218
Front axle seals leaking $755
Brake Flush $160
Power steering flush $150
Tech also noted an Oil leak from Engine area-Rear main seal? Valve Cover?

Anyone have any advice on what I need here and don't need? and what to prioritize?

Thanks ahead of time and please don't forget to flame the newbie.....

Old 06-26-2019, 03:38 PM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,825 Likes on 1,595 Posts

I'll just punch hole in a few to start.

Steering dampner - remove. if you feel the need, a $55 Teraflex VSS9550 will work just perfectly fine.