Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Regearing and adding Detroit Locker

Old 08-18-2009, 12:20 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Regearing and adding Detroit Locker

I have an appointment Thursday to regear my JK to 4.88 and add a Detroit Locker in the rear. I am a little concerned that I can't seem to find Detroit Lockers listed as an application for my Jeep anywhere else. I hope it fits!

Also I was told my only options are 4.88 and 5.13 gears, but I believe I have seen 4.56 gears in some of your signatures. What gives?

I am a total rookie to these kind of mods. I think I'm getting nervous, but my installer has a great rep in this area.
Old 08-18-2009, 12:53 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would completely advise against getting a non-selectable locker in the rear of your Jeep. The Detroit will activate not only offroad, but on-road in every low-traction scenario you can imagine. If it's rainy, it'll activate, if it's snowy, it'll activate, if you go around a corner too fast, etc. etc.

Best case scenario, it'll be loud and annoying, worst case, it'll be dangerous as the JK wants to straighten out and regain traction while you're trying to turn.

I would highly advise an ARB or other completely selectable locker for the rear. It'll be invisible when you want it off and work as expected when you turn it on. If you must have a Detroit, put it in the front, where it'll only be on when you're in 4-wheel drive. It'll make turning a pita, though.