Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

ShrockWorks mid-width + SuperWinch = Yea!!

Old 10-15-2007, 03:00 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ShrockWorks mid-width + SuperWinch = Yea!!

I spent about 6 hours yesterday installing my new ShrockWorks mid-width front bumper and SuperWinch ep9.0 (yes, I'm a newbie--hence the 6 hours!)

A couple of things to report for those who may be considering this combination:

I had checked with Nick prior to ordering both winch and bumper to be sure they would fit, and he thought there would be no issues like with the stubby. He was within 7/16" of being right! I found that I did have to re-drill to mount the winch because the existing holes did not allow the winch to clear the bumper on the driver's side. Re-drilled the winch plate (4 holes), the bumper (2 holes--the front holes for the winch), and the skid plate (2 holes). Fortunately, my helper buddy had a great set of sharp drill bits, so no big deal.

The only other issue was in mounting the factory fogs--they fit beautifully in the cutouts provided by ShrockWorks, but the wiring harness does not reach either light, so I spliced in extra wire, using butt splices, silicon, and heat shrink tubing. Again, no big deal.

The wiring was a snap, as others have reported, and the battery leads turned out to be exactly the right, comfortable length--just like it had been designed for the JK.