Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Synthetic winch rope question

Old 11-25-2016, 12:05 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Synthetic winch rope question

I am new to owning a winch. Havent used the winch yet but unspooled for recommended maintenance and noticed that some of the line seems crushed or flattened out.

I pulled it all the way out and respooled under tension again but am just wondering it that is an issue. Does that create weak spots? When i had originally spooled it I had a really clean even spool.
Old 11-25-2016, 01:42 PM
JK Jedi

Received 107 Likes on 104 Posts

Originally Posted by MAJKF
I am new to owning a winch. Havent used the winch yet but unspooled for recommended maintenance and noticed that some of the line seems crushed or flattened out.

I pulled it all the way out and respooled under tension again but am just wondering it that is an issue. Does that create weak spots? When i had originally spooled it I had a really clean even spool.
that's normal. Synthetic line is very flexible. I have made several hard pulls and mine always looks flat at the drum. I have warn spydura and it has a protective coating at the beginning of the line that is supposed to protect from the heat that the drum produces and it gets pretty ugly when I unspool it to wash it.
Old 11-25-2016, 02:03 PM
JK Newbie

Good to know. Thanks.
Old 11-25-2016, 11:14 PM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 361 Likes on 269 Posts