Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Why 17" wheels over 18"?

Old 10-05-2014, 06:19 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why 17" wheels over 18"?

I'm new to this whole Jeep customization thing, but noticing there seems to be a strong preference amongst off-roaders to use 17" wheels. I'm wondering why. My Sahara came with 18" wheels, probably because of improved ON road performance (?) which is kind of the intent of the Sahara model in general, I think. So, anyway, why 17" wheels?
Old 10-05-2014, 06:35 PM
Ncb
JK Super Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Lighter, cheaper, less blingy, more D rated tire options in 17", more side wall and better when aired down.
Old 10-05-2014, 06:40 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 63 Likes on 58 Posts

Wheel size is really a preference, but there are advantages to going smaller. 17's have more options for ties sizes than 18. Also, with each size you go down the cheeper the tires, and wheels, get. As you go down in size you get a better tire sidewall to wheel ratio for more sidewall flex off road. There are downsides to going smaller, a lot of after market upgrades, especially brake upgrade packages are designed for a 17" or lager wheel, so going to 16" rules out some of those options. A lot of guys run 15" but you have to be careful because a lot of the after market 15" wheels won't fit on the JK.

From what I have seen 17" wheels are probably the most common choice for aftermarket wheels.
Old 10-05-2014, 07:15 PM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

Originally Posted by jdschup