Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wondering steering help!

Old 06-04-2019, 05:00 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wondering steering help!

So I’m new to the Jeep world. Not new to modding cars and trucks but new to Jeeps. Bought an 08’ JK with 125k miles has a rough country 3.5” lift. Has 17 AEV wheels inside 35s nothing crazy.

Now you know what mods. I’m having a bit of trouble from the steering. Now coming from lifted trucks I’ve never had any steering issues. I know I know it’s a Jeep but this thing wanders inside the paint like no other! When navigating a corner slight left it will track perfect. As you start back to straight or cross back to the right, I feel a slight thump in the steering and can even feel it in the pedal assembly it’s so prevalent, and the Jeep feels like something is loose and begins to pull the new direction suddenly until I catch up with the steering wheel. I have been under this thing a couple times now and have checked everything under the sun for bad parts and have yet to come across anything. Searched online for anything that’s a common issue and can’t seem to locate much. I’ve looked at sway bars, trac bars, tie rod ends and every other steering component under the thing. Are steering boxes common to go bad? Anyone have any additional thoughts to check before I go dragging it to the off-road shop?
Old 06-04-2019, 07:05 PM
JK Super Freak
FJOTM Winner

Received 210 Likes on 197 Posts