Notices
New England If you live in the New England area (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut) and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum members in your area and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

Law on driving without doors in MA?

Old 03-19-2012, 07:49 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Law on driving without doors in MA?

Hey all!

Well since the weather is awesome, I removed my Hard top for the first time this weekend... I'm new to Mass, and I'm not 100% on the law for running no doors and hoping someone can clear it up for me. From what I found online, you can run them but need a Driverside mirror... I'm going to check with a buddy whose brother is a cop, but they are on a trip right now, so figured I would ask here first.

Personally, I could care less if Mass wants me to add the mirror, as long as I can take them off. If the answer is "no, you can't go doorless" then my followup question would be if those tubular half doors pass?

I do drive in NH, and Maine a fair ammount, so if anyone knows their rules, I would be interested as well.

Thanks in advance, hope you all are enjoying the weather as much as I am!!
Old 03-19-2012, 07:52 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I haven't heard of anyone in New England getting busted for being doorless. Mirrorless, yes, I do believe one external to the vehicle is required in Mass. (I think the law states something about two being required).

That's my clear as mud understanding.
Old 03-19-2012, 08:43 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by yo_marc
I haven't heard of anyone in New England getting busted for being doorless. Mirrorless, yes, I do believe one external to the vehicle is required in Mass. (I think the law states something about two being required).

That's my clear as mud understanding.