Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

3.8 motor issues. Have any texts seen this?

Old 02-15-2021, 12:04 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3.8 motor issues. Have any texts seen this?

Ok this post is for the Jeep/ Chrysler teach in the group. First I am not your average Tech. I have been a Factory trainer for GM, Navistar, FPT, And OEM Supplier Bosch. I currently tech a Heavy-duty Diesel and Equip. Program for GBC. I specialize in Fuel control diagnostics. But I Got one here that has me a little perplexed. My ’08 JKU this thing and a motor R&R about 40k ago under warranty from Mopar. Few weeks ago, I started this thing up in the am an was running like crap. Flashed the CEL with a P0300 (multi misfire). The day before this thing purred like a kitten and towed my boat home from the lake. Not following my own teaching I threw a few parts at it (cam, crank sensors and coil pack) with no luck. Rule number one- Cant fix a drivability issue on a bad motor. Always verify compression/ condition. Did a relative compression check saw some abnormalities, so Did a static. 1 and 2 cylinder was very low ( 80 one and 30 the other) so I thought burned exhaust vales ( 3.8 common issue) pulled the top end down to the heads. Pulled valve cover off right bank and #2 exhaust push tube was out from under the fulcrum ? kinda said WTF? Pulled the left cover same thing on #1 but intake.
Have any of you Tech seen this in the 3.8 or its little brother 3.3? if so what was the issue and the fix.
So I know lifters are and issue with the 3.8. never had any noise before. Could this be a lifter issue
I haven’t rotated the motor yet to determine cam issue/ lobe.