Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Brake Hose/Line Separation

Old 06-03-2020, 12:03 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Hose/Line Separation

I had a rusty break hose fail and am trying to replace it, this is my first time trying to do this.

I got all the bolts moving, but when I try to remove the brake line bolt from the clamp it is not letting the black brake line spin. It wants to twist the line.

I have drenched in pb blaster, and tried holding the black line with some pliers, but they wont budge apart.

I am trying to be very careful not to bend the brake line, but not sure what else I can try.

Any tips?

Old 06-03-2020, 02:00 PM
Super Moderator
FJOTM Winner

Received 483 Likes on 440 Posts

Ensure that you're using the appropriate wrenches so you can get a grip all the way around the nut but if it won't budge then I'd look at replacing that piece of line. It's not far to run from the master cylinder down to that location and I'm sure that jeep dealer right at the base of the Wright Memorial bridge would have it for a reasonable price.
Old 06-03-2020, 02:49 PM
JK Newbie

The nut is moving from the bracket, but not freely from the metal brake line. I think it may be seized up inside, just not sure how to break it loose without hurting the metal brake line.
Old 06-03-2020, 04:24 PM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,849 Likes on 1,618 Posts