Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

A JK-Forum User-created DEFINITIVE guide to Amps, Subs, and Audio

Old 06-15-2009, 12:47 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question A JK-Forum User-created DEFINITIVE guide to Amps, Subs, and Audio

Post No. 9 (below) has the answers to the original post questions (see below). Here is a recount of my experience and what I learned.

I decided to do this on the cheap, including good but not high end parts, and the whole install by me rather than an installer. To be clear, I've never installed a stereo before and I'm no pro with electronics. Just a normal, but competent person. My advice is this: anyone should be able to install the speakers and the sub. The amp is hard ONLY because of the mounting issue. I simply could not mount it where I wanted (under passenger seat) without taking the seat out. I could not take the seat out b/c I couldn't get the screws out. If you can, the amp install can be reasonably easy. Another option, which I would do if starting over, is to find an amp (like the Alpine 5) that fits in the stock location.