Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Newbie question not in the FAQ...

Old 10-21-2010, 11:03 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie question not in the FAQ...

So I'm new to the 4x4 scene and I did some offloading last weekend and I'm wondering if I did everything right...

A few of the trails were pretty "adventurous" so I put it in 4wd low the whole time. Is this bad? What is the maximum speed I should do in 4wd low? The trails were a mixture of climbing and crawling with some flat ground which allowed me to get up to 20mph…

Also, what is the max speed of 4WD hi?

Lastly, I also had the rear locker engaged the whole time. Is this common practice? It was all dirt with climbing areas that were rock…
Old 10-21-2010, 11:08 AM
JK Junkie

4 Lo the entire trip is fine, many do it. The main reason why some people do it is because if you get to the point where you need 4 Lo it may be too late. As far a locker I would use it only when you need it.
Old 10-21-2010, 11:14 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Slow is good

When wheeling you need to remember that slow Is good. Excess speed will cause parts to fails. Go lightly on the gas pedal and you can stay in 4lo.
Old 10-21-2010, 11:18 AM
JK Freak

4WD hi can run highway (65 not 95) on surfaces with questionable traction, ice,snow, gravel roads,ect.
Old 10-21-2010, 11:20 AM
JK Freak

was in 4wd in colorado doing around 65-70 no issues.
Old 10-21-2010, 11:24 AM
JK Super Freak

The 4-hi can be used at a pretty decent speed (not that you'd really want to go that fast in 4wd, high or low), but I think that Jeep states that you can use it up to 55 mph.
Old 10-21-2010, 11:27 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post