Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

tire air down

Old 12-22-2010, 07:34 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tire air down

New to off roading. I seen a lot about air down tires when off roading. Is this only for sand and rocks? Do you want to air down for mud? How much do you air down?
Old 12-22-2010, 07:36 PM
JK Junkie

Originally Posted by chopperbobby
New to off roading. I seen a lot about air down tires when off roading. Is this only for sand and rocks? Do you want to air down for mud? How much do you air down?
i am fairly new to airing down as well. the offroading club i got with airs down to any where from 3-6 psi depending on the rig. airing down is mostly to get a better grip on rocks. however, they air down at the beggining of the trail and dont air up till the end of the day at the end of the trial. they are aired down for everything. hope this helps.
Old 12-22-2010, 07:39 PM
JK Junkie

3-6 is pretty low unless you have beadlocks. i usually run 12-16 on the rocks.
Old 12-22-2010, 07:48 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

One airs down to increase the contact patch of the tires. This also helps the tire to conform more to the terrain. Not a bad idea at all. That said I would not air down just because you saw others do it. I swear, I think some people think they should let the air out of their tires to go down a dirt road. Some people even call a dirt road a trail .

So if you find your self faced with a real obstacle and you actually need more traction this is the way to do it. But, just to air down and air up at the end day is a waste of time IMO.
Old 12-22-2010, 07:53 PM
JK Junkie

point taken. but airing down on even a "dirt" road makes the ride so much more smoother. really does make a difference try it sometime.
Old 12-22-2010, 07:56 PM
JK Jedi

Originally Posted by fish