Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

OR - Trasfer Case Lever - Transaction Control ?s

Old 03-19-2012, 07:26 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OR - Trasfer Case Lever - Transaction Control ?s

I am new to ORing. Had my second experience this past weekend and have some general questions. Apologies if these are posted elsewhere....

1.) When in 4wheel drive should my transaction control be off?? My jeep shakes like crazy when rpms get up there and trying to climb sand. This thought didnt cross my mind that it should be turned off until on my way home from the trail. This leads to my second issue below, which i think caused #2 below.

2.) When leaving the trail my ABS/Brake/Traction Control lights all came on. I stopped my jeep, restarted and they all went away. Going through some sand to get out i went to shift to 4wheel drive only to find Transfer case lever is completely busted. It goes up and down w/o any resistance. Not concerned because dealer will fix under warranty but just wondering if my noob error (assuming #1 above was mistake) caused this to break. Should i be concerned that anything else was damaged?? O and i bottomed out on some sand hills twice...realize i now need a lift. Could this of possibly caused the transfer case lever to break...????

Thanks is advance to any help!!
Old 03-19-2012, 10:00 AM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Were you in 4 lo or 4 hi?
Traction control???
I know that if your traction control is going off that could cause a light shudder. Which is most likely the brakes, or the system stunting the throttle to regain traction. Which means most likely you were in 4hi when you should have been in 4lo.