Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Lockers VS LSD...A technical discussion

Old 09-08-2012, 10:34 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lockers VS LSD...A technical discussion

I come from the sports car world and my 2012 Sahara is my first Jeep. As you know, I have neither lockers nor LSD. In the future, I though about upgrading the diffs with lockers or LSDs. Now, I have been doing reading for the last 8 months about both of them, but never had any practical real world experience.

Now, without either of them, if I pick one wheel up off the ground, the open diff will just spin the wheel off the ground without giving the wheel ON the ground any power. Yes we have BLD, but I'd like to leave that out of this convo for practical matters.

Now, in the above scenario, lockers will "lock" the two wheels together giving both wheels 50% of the available power. Sounds great. However, we forget that one wheel is off the ground and is spinning 50% of the power into oblivion...seems like a waste.

Now in the same scenario, a good LSD is capable of removing all power from one wheel and giving it to the wheel on the ground, thus, giving the grounded wheel 100% of the available power, unlike the lockers which can only do 50%.

To the simple man like me (layman is a better term) it seems like a good LSD is far superior on paper than lockers.

Would love to hear your explanation as to why my thinking is incorrect.

Not meant to start any arguments, just genuinely interested in the topic.
Old 09-08-2012, 10:58 AM
JK Freak