Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Voltage leak questions.

Old 10-13-2017, 09:17 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Voltage leak questions.

My battery will not hold a charge and I think I have a voltage leak. Any help would be appreciated as I am no expert in diagnosing electrical issues, but I am eager to learn.

I removed the ground cable from the negative battery post, and am completing the circuit with my multimeter by connecting one lead to the detached ground cable and the other lead to the negative battery post.

With my multimeter set on ohms, I get a reading of either 6.75. Is 6.75 normal? I figure there must be some draw with a computer, clock, etc. Or shoukd it be 0?

2008 JKUX no power anything no cruise control nothing but the base model.

Thanks in advance you folks are always very helpful.
Old 10-13-2017, 12:09 PM
JK Junkie

Received 159 Likes on 140 Posts

Dumb question, but did you get your battery tested? A bad battery is surely a likely cause. At rest, the voltage on your battery should be around 12.6 - 12.8. While running it should be around 14. You need to take your battery to an auto parts store and have it load tested. They do it for free. I've never heard of doing and ohms test on a battery. A multimeter applies about 5 volts on the leads when testing for ohm. So you are taking a 5 volt supply and touching it to a 12.6 volt supply. Makes no sense to me.

Last edited by rob_engineer; 10-13-2017 at 12:14 PM.
Old 10-13-2017, 12:50 PM
JK Junkie

Received 159 Likes on 140 Posts

Instead of ohms, when you disconnected the neg terminal you could have put your meter into ammeter mode and measured the current flowing. Though I don't know what a "good" reading would be for that.
Old 10-13-2017, 01:21 PM
JK Super Freak