Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

engine mods

Old 07-23-2008, 01:18 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine mods

just got in my aFe air intake and my airaid poweraid trottle body spacer. i have no mechanic experience but the instructions look fairly simple. the only thing that cause a red flag to go up in my head was when bolting the throttle body back on you must tighten the bolts to factory specs. does anyone know what the factory specs are, or where i can find them??

also if there are any trouble shooters i should know about before i take this project on this saturday? thanks for any and all help!
Old 07-23-2008, 01:35 PM
JK Super Freak

I just installed the Airraid throttle body last night with an AirRaid CAI. Saw the same thing in the instructions. I simply tightened them down with a wrench til i thought they were tight enough. Make sure you dont overtighten or youll break the plastic part between your cold air induction hose and the throttle body. wouldnt be cheap to replace that.
Old 07-23-2008, 01:52 PM
JK Jedi

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Instructions on how to properly install the throttle body spacer: Throw it just as far as you can, because they are worthless on the JK engines. They DO NOT work.
Old 07-23-2008, 08:54 PM
JK Newbie

hmm, well i already have it. so i might as well install it. but thanks for the advice.
Old 07-23-2008, 09:03 PM
JK Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'd tighten it to about 20 ft. lbs. or less. Careful you don't bust the little plug socket that goes to the sensor that plugs into the tube...
Old 07-23-2008, 09:09 PM
JK Newbie