Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Value in a 2 Inch Lift

Old 08-27-2018, 09:40 PM
JK Newbie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Value in a 2 Inch Lift

Hi everyone, sorry if these questions are in the wrong place. Although I’ve been reading through JK Forums for self help and ideas; I’m new to the rules of posting on forums and may have jacked this up.

I originally started with a YJ but traded in for a 2014 JKU Sport about a year ago with the desire to turn into into an overlander/DD. I’ve been wheeling it as much as I can stock (except for swapping out for some Rubicon shocks/springs and rails). I think now I’m ready to start making some budget mods.

So this brings me to my questions (if you’re still with me, thanks, I know my intro got long winded). I want to enhance my JKU’s off-road capabilities but maintain a comfortable and decent MPG DD. Since I purchased Rubicon take offs I kind of want to run these out a little longer since I like the ride it provides.

1. Would 2in lift be a wise way to do this? Seems like a good way to be able to run a larger tire and give more travel without requiring a lot of modification to the suspension (can’t afford it now but plan for upgrades later). Is it a wiser bet to go with a 2.5in lift? How much if a difference is the 1/2in?

2. Looking into the RE 2in Economy Lift. Has anyone ran this kit? What are your thoughts on the kit? How much lift did you see? Did you run 33s or stretch to 35s? Any issues result from the lift?