Notices
NorCal If you live in Northern California and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum Jeepers near to you and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

Need Trail/Camping Advice in Central/North Cali Please!

Old 12-24-2008, 04:48 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Trail/Camping Advice in Central/North Cali Please!

I am new to Jeeping and live in Monterey. I'd like to take some 3-4 day outings in some nice foresty/remote trails. I'd like to camp 2-3 nights in a tent with a fire (in a fire pit, not the tent). Ideally I'd like a nice relatively easy trail (to minimize risk if I'm alone) that is really remote/secluded. I'm looking to get some wildlife photo ops and just relax.

Does anyone know of such an area? I've read about some off-highway trails around Tahoe but the campsites seem to be the large/populated kind (from the little I've read).

I've browsed around and I've seen the many group events (which I do plan on attending), but I'm also looking for a nice secluded area I can escape to every once-in-a-while..

All advice appreciated!

~jk
Old 12-24-2008, 08:19 PM
JK Freak

Try around the Shaver Lake area ...there are alot of trails between shaver lake and Huntington Lake....look up swamp lake trail , red lake, coyote, bald mtn is one of my favs but it only takes a few hours or so , but great for the beginner. Hell there are about 16 different lakes up in the mtns above shaver lake...i'll try and find you a good website for the area..but I try to go quite often in the summer time 4 wheeling...most trails are open from april to november
Old 12-24-2008, 08:23 PM
JK Enthusiast